02_Elements/Icons/ArrowLeft 返回洞察力
洞察>市场与金融

电视提升电子商务企业的品牌知名度和信任度

5 分钟阅读 | 2016 年 7 月

尼尔森和 SPOT 分析市场

支付平台PYMNTS的最新研究表明,对网站的信任是消费者进行网上购物的最重要因素。信任度超过了价格和配送等因素。Branddeli 最近对度假网站预订行为的研究也得出了同样的结果。结果显示,66% 的荷兰人在网上预订度假时更愿意选择品牌知名度足够高的预订网站。度假者对通过亲朋好友、评级网站和电视广告了解的预订网站最有信心。

电视广告是电子商务行业建立信任、信誉和品牌意识的最重要渠道。根据 Thuiswinkel.org 的最新数据,去年荷兰的网上购物超过 1.42 亿次,总金额达 160 亿欧元。这比前一年增长了约 16%,主要是食品、玩具和时尚等行业造成的。

订单金额不变,订单数量翻番

自 2011 年以来,订单数量和营业额几乎翻了一番。而平均订单金额则基本保持在 1.11 亿欧元左右。在过去的五年里,网上购物的人数从 1000 万增加到了 1100 万欧元。越来越多的网上购物者增加了订单数量,这是电子商务行业收入增长的主要原因。

媒体预算增长强劲,电视增长 70

为了实现营业额和订单数量的增长,电商行业大量投放广告。根据尼尔森的数据,2011 年至 2015 年期间,该行业的媒体预算总额从 3.04 亿多欧元增至 3.3 亿欧元(图 2)。值得注意的是,尼尔森对网络媒体的媒体支出进行了限制(仅限于桌面显示)。

在整个市场和电视上引人注目的增长者和新来者是盒饭、旅游经营者、比较网站和电信网络商店。

网店百货公司媒体预算毛额最高

电子商务行业中媒体预算总额最大的产品类别是网络百货商店。Bol.com、Wehkamp、Zalando 和 Coolblue 等知名网店占据了大部分支出。电视广告在网店百货中的预算份额为 65%,是迄今为止最大的媒体类型。

Koopjedeal 的地位十分突出。它以近 1,400 万欧元的预算跻身前五名,但预算几乎全部用于日报。在其他 5 大广告主中,电视在广告预算分配方面扮演着最重要的角色(图 3):资料来源:尼尔森

在过去四年中,媒体总支出增长了 9%,而电视支出则更进一步。过去四年,电子商务公司的电视支出增长高达 70%。因此,同期电视在媒体总支出中所占份额从 32% 增长到 50%(图 4)。

2015 年,电视占电子商务总预算的 50%。在电视之后,报纸和直邮分别以 6200 万欧元和 2800 万欧元遥遥领先,分别占预算的 19% 和 9%。广播通常被称为流量生成器,占电子商务预算的 9%(图 5)。

新加入电子商务大家庭的餐盒

餐盒是电子商务家族中的新成员。尤其是HelloFresh品牌正在取得进展。2015 年,杂货配送服务公司在广告上的投入接近 1000 万欧元。其中75%用于电视。2014 年,HelloFresh 的预算 "只有 "200 万欧元。这家来自杜文德雷赫特(Duivendrecht)的餐盒供应商跻身2015年最大电商广告商前十名。排名第一和最大的电商广告主还是 Bol.com(图 6)。

品牌知名度对交易平台的影响

当然,问题在于这些预算是否带来了预期的品牌知名度。因为根据上述研究,这是网上购物时最重要的因素。Marktplaats 于 2015 年 7 月发布了一份调查报告,调查内容包括在线交易平台的知名度,结果显示主要的电视广告商确实名列前茅。Marktplaats 和 Kieskeurig 也位列前五,但与真正的网上商店相比,它们的知名度较低。

研究解释说,尽管在线交易平台越来越受欢迎,但只有一小部分平台为消费者所熟知。也正是这些平台被消费者称为可信赖的网站。当问及消费者实际使用哪些平台时,只有少数几个平台被提及:Bol.com、Zalando、Wehkamp 和 Marktplaats[1]。这再次印证了品牌知名度和信任度是网上购物的重要基本价值。显然,电视可以帮助实现这一点。

国外电子商务规模更大

荷兰的情况并非独一无二。在德国,在线行业也在电视上投放大量广告。2015年,比价网站Unister、Check24和Trivago的电视广告总额接近5亿欧元。这比2014年多出约1亿欧元。根据德国研究机构 XAD 的数据,三分之一的电视广告都包含对在线域名的呼叫或引用。2014 年,这一比例仍为四分之一。

这一发展在英国也清晰可见。在这里,在线各方也受益于电视在建立认知和信任方面的力量。伞式旅游组织 CIM 旅游集团的主席史蒂夫-邓恩(Steve Dunne)将其形容为旅游营销的分水岭和转折点,即旅行社集体选择通过电视来提高消费者的认知度和信任度。因此,旅行社希望在电视上曝光。其他行业也是如此。

关于本文

本文由 Peter Wiegman 代表 SPOT 和尼尔森根据对尼尔森媒体支出的分析整理而成。参考资料来源包括 BrandDeli、Thuuiswinkel.org、Emerce 和 Warc。

相关标签

继续浏览类似的见解

Skip to content
Insights > Markets and Finances

TV promotes brand awareness and trust in e-commerce businesses

5 minute read | July 2016

Nielsen and SPOT analyze the market

Recent research by the payment platform PYMNTS shows that trust in a website is the most important factor for consumers to make online purchases. Trust wins out over factors such as price and delivery. Branddeli recently saw the same outcome in a study into book behavior on holiday sites. This showed that 66% of Dutch people prefer to choose a booking site with sufficient brand awareness when booking a holiday online. Vacationers have the most confidence in booking sites that they know through friends and family, rating sites and TV advertising.

TV advertising is the most important channel for the e-commerce industry to build trust, credibility and brand awareness. According to the latest figures from Thuiswinkel.org, more than 142 million online purchases were made in the Netherlands last year for a total amount of €16 billion. This is an increase of about 16% compared to the previous year and is mainly caused by sectors such as food, toys and fashion.

Order amount constant, number of orders doubled

The number of orders and turnover have almost doubled since 2011. The average order amount, on the other hand, has remained fairly constant at around € 111 million. The number of people making purchases online has grown from 10 to €11 million in the past five years. The increase in the number of orders from a growing group of online shoppers is the main explanation for this revenue growth in the e-commerce industry.

Media budgets grow strongly, TV grows by 70%

In order to achieve growth in turnover and the number of orders, the e-commerce industry is heavily advertising. According to Nielsen figures, the industry’s gross media budgets increased from over €304 million to €330 million in the period 2011 to 2015 (Chart 2). It should be noted that media spend on online media is limited by Nielsen (display on desktop only).

Striking growers and newcomers on both the total market and on TV are the meal boxes, tour operators, comparison sites and telecom web shops.

Webshop department stores largest gross media budget

The product group within the e-commerce industry with the largest gross media budget is webshop department stores. Well-known web stores such as Bol.com, Wehkamp, ​​Zalando and Coolblue account for the majority of the spending. TV advertising has a budget share of 65% within webshop department stores, making it by far the largest medium type.

The position of Koopjedeal is striking. With a budget of almost €14 million, it is well represented in the top 5, but the budget is spent almost entirely on the daily newspapers. Among the other top 5 advertisers, TV plays the most important role when it comes to the distribution of advertising budgets (Chart 3).Source: Nielsen

While total media expenditure grew by 9% in the past four years, TV took it even further. E-commerce companies have grown their TV spend by as much as 70% over the past four years. As a result, the share of TV in total media spending grew from 32% to 50% in the same period (Chart 4).

In 2015, TV accounted for 50% of the total e-commerce budget. After TV, Newspapers and Direct Mail follow remotely with € 62 and € 28 million respectively, which is good for 19% and 9% of the budget. Radio, often referred to as a traffic generator, realizes 9% of the e-commerce budget (Chart 5).

Meal boxes new to the e-commerce family

The meal boxes are new within the e-commerce family. The HelloFresh brand in particular is making progress. Grocery Delivery Services spent almost €10 million on advertising in 2015. 75% of this went to TV. In 2014, the HelloFresh budget was ‘only’ € 2 million. The supplier of meal boxes from Duivendrecht is in the top 10 of largest e-commerce advertisers in 2015. The number 1 and largest e-commerce advertiser is again Bol.com (Chart 6).

Effect of brand awareness on trading platforms

The question is, of course, whether the budgets have led to the desired brand awareness. Because according to the aforementioned studies, that is the most important factor when shopping online. Marktplaats published a survey in July 2015 into, among other things, the awareness of online trading platforms, which shows that the major TV advertisers are indeed at the top of the list. Marktplaats and Kieskeurig are also in the top 5, but are less comparable with the real online shops.

In an explanation of the research, it is stated that despite the increasing popularity of online trading platforms, only a small group of platforms are known among consumers. It is also those platforms that are characterized by them as a trusted website. When asked which platforms consumers actually use, only a few players are mentioned: Bol.com, Zalando, Wehkamp and Marktplaats[1]. Once again the confirmation that brand awareness and trust are important basic values ​​for online shopping. Apparently TV can help with that.

E-commerce abroad even bigger

The situation in the Netherlands is not unique. The online industry also advertises heavily on TV in Germany. The comparison sites Unister, Check24 and Trivago together accounted for almost €500 million in TV advertising in 2015. That is about €100 million more than in 2014. According to the German research agency XAD, one third of all TV commercials contain a call or reference to an online domain. In 2014 that was still a quarter.

This development is also clearly visible in England. Here too, the online parties benefit from the power of TV to build awareness and trust. Steve Dunne, chairman of the umbrella travel organization CIM Travel Group, describes it as a watershed, a turning point in travel marketing, where travel agents en masse opt for TV to generate awareness and trust among consumers. Travel agencies want to be visible on TV for this reason. And it’s not much different in other industries.

About this article

This article has been compiled by Peter Wiegman on behalf of SPOT and Nielsen, based on an analysis of Nielsen media spending. Sources consulted include BrandDeli, Thuiswinkel.org, Emerce and Warc.