跳至内容
02_Elements/Icons/ArrowLeft 返回洞察力
洞察>电视和流媒体

五月迎来流媒体之夏

4 分钟阅读 | 2022 年 6 月

与许多活动一样,电视收视率也有历史标准,其中许多标准是由日历决定的。然而,流媒体的发展继续改变着历史,5 月份流媒体收视率再创新高,占总电视时间的 31.9%。

五月历来是电视收视率最低的月份,今年的情况也与这一趋势一致,电视总收视时间下降了 2.7%。不过,与广播和有线电视收视相比,流媒体的使用量增加了 2%,这主要得益于Disney+上映的《欧比旺-克诺比》和Netflix 上映的怪奇物语》第四季。观众对这些节目的需求很大,帮助这两个平台在节目减少时吸引了大量观众:5 月 27 日,Disney+ 吸引了电视总份额的 2.5%,5 月 28 日(周六),Netflix 吸引了 9.0%。

5 月份,广播和有线电视收视率双双下降,收视率均下降了 3.5%,这也符合历史常态。电视剧继续拉动广播收视,《海军罪案调查处》(NCIS)、《联邦调查局》(FBI)和《蓝色血液》(Blue Bloods)等程序犯罪剧帮助该类型节目占据了广播收视的三分之一。虽然 5 月份有线电视新闻收视率下降了 4.2%,但体育收视率却上升了 7%,占有线电视总收视率的 9%。值得注意的是,NBA 季后赛占据了本月收视率最高的六个有线电视节目。 

夏季是传统电视的冷淡期,也可能是流媒体平台应用不断扩大的拐点。我们将继续追踪这些趋势,敬请关注 "仪表盘 "今后的更新。

带我看看下面的方法细节。

观看视频,聆听尼尔森产品战略高级副总裁 Brian Fuhrer 在幕后介绍支撑 The Gauge 的一些收视变化。

方法和常见问题

该指标每月对消费者如何通过主要电视传输平台(包括广播、流媒体、有线电视和其他来源)获取内容进行宏观分析。它还包括主要流媒体发行商的细分。图表本身显示了各个流媒体分发商在各类电视和电视总使用量中所占的份额。

量表 "是如何制作的?

The Gauge 的数据来自两个单独加权的面板,然后合并成图表。尼尔森的流媒体数据来自全国电视面板中支持流媒体计费器的电视家庭子集。线性电视资源(广播和有线电视)以及总使用量基于尼尔森整体电视面板的收视情况。

所有数据均基于每个观看源的特定时间段。代表 5 周月份的数据包括数据时间段内第 1 - 4 周的 Live+7 组合。(注:Live+7 包括电视直播观看和七天后的观看。Live +3 包括电视直播观看和三天后的观看)。

其他 "包括哪些内容?

在《标准》中,"其他 "包括所有其他电视。这主要包括所有其他调谐(未测量来源)、未测量的视频点播(VOD)、通过有线电视机顶盒的流媒体、游戏和其他设备(DVD 播放)的使用。由于通过有线电视机顶盒进行的流媒体播放不计入各流媒体分发商,因此将其归入 "其他 "类别。通过有线电视机顶盒计入各个流媒体分发商是尼尔森在加强流媒体计量表技术的过程中不断追求的目标。

其他流媒体 "包括哪些内容?

列为 "其他流媒体 "的流媒体平台包括未单独列出的任何高带宽电视视频流媒体。

是否包括 Hulu 和 YouTube 上的直播流媒体?

是的,Hulu 包括在 Hulu Live 上观看,Youtube 包括在 Youtube TV 上观看。

编码直播电视,又称编码线性流媒体,包括在广播和有线电视组(线性电视)以及流媒体和其他流媒体(如 Hulu Live、Youtube TV、其他流媒体 MVPD/vMVPD 应用程序)中。(vMVPD是将从主要节目网络获得授权的线性(电视)内容整合在一起,以独立订阅的形式打包,并可通过宽带连接的设备访问的分销商)。

继续浏览类似的见解

Skip to content
Insights > Media

May ushers in the summer of streaming

4 minute read | June 2022

Much like many activities, television viewing has historical norms, many of which are driven by the calendar. The growth of streaming, however, continues to change history, as streaming viewership hit yet another new high in May, claiming 31.9% of total TV time.

May is historically the month when TV viewership is at its lowest, and this year fell in line with that trend, as total time with TV fell 2.7%. Compared with broadcast and cable viewing, however, streaming usage increased by 2%, amplified by the release of Obi-Wan Kenobi on Disney+ and season 4 of Stranger Things on Netflix. The appetite for these titles was significant, helping the two platforms attract big viewership as the programs dropped: Disney+ attracted 2.5% of the total TV share  on May 27, and Netflix claimed 9.0% on Saturday, May 28.

Also in line with historical norms, broadcast and cable viewing both declined in May, as viewing volume fell 3.5% for each. Drama continued to drive broadcast viewership, with procedural crime dramas like NCIS, FBI and Blue Bloods helping the genre capture one-third of the broadcast viewing. While cable news viewing was down 4.2% in May, sports viewing was up 7%, accounting for 9% of total cable viewing. Notably, NBA playoff games accounted for the top six most-viewed cable programs during the month. 

Summertime marks a lull period for traditional television, and it could be an inflection point for the adoption of the expanding streaming platforms. Stay tuned for future iterations of The Gauge as we continue to map these trends.

Take me to the methodology details below.

Watch the video to hear Brian Fuhrer, SVP, Product Strategy at Nielsen provide a behind the scenes look at some of the viewing changes underpinning The Gauge.

METHODOLOGY AND FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

The Gauge provides a monthly macroanalysis of how consumers are accessing content across key television delivery platforms, including Broadcast, Streaming, Cable and Other sources. It also includes a breakdown of the major, individual streaming distributors. The chart itself shows the share by category and of total television usage by individual streaming distributors.

How is ‘The Gauge’ created?

The data for The Gauge is derived from two separately weighted panels and combined to create the graphic. Nielsen’s streaming data is derived from a subset of Streaming Meter-enabled TV households within the National TV panel. The linear TV sources (Broadcast and Cable), as well as total usage are based on viewing from Nielsen’s overall TV panel.

All the data is based on a specific time period for each viewing source. The data, representing a 5 week month, includes a combination of Live+7 for weeks 1 – 4 in the data time period. (Note: Live+7 includes live television viewing plus viewing up to seven days later. Live +3 includes television viewing plus viewing up to three days later.)

What is included in “Other”?

Within The Gauge, “Other” includes all other TV. This primarily includes all other tuning (unmeasured sources), unmeasured video on demand (VOD), streaming through a cable set top box, gaming, and other device (DVD playback) use. Because streaming via cable set top boxes does not credit respective streaming distributors, these are included in the “Other” category. Crediting individual streaming distributors from cable set top boxes is something Nielsen continues to pursue as we enhance our Streaming Meter technology.

What is included in “Other Streaming”?

Streaming platforms listed as “Other Streaming” includes any high-bandwidth video streaming on television that is not individually broken out.

Do you include live streaming on Hulu and YouTube?

Yes, Hulu includes viewing on Hulu Live and Youtube includes viewing on Youtube TV.

Encoded Live TV, aka encoded linear streaming, is included in both the Broadcast and Cable groups (linear TV) as well as under Streaming and other streaming e.g. Hulu Live, Youtube TV, Other Streaming MVPD/vMVPD apps. (Note: MVPD, or multichannel video programming distributor, is a service that provides multiple television channels. vMVPDs are distributors that aggregate linear (TV) content licensed from major programming networks and packaged together in a standalone subscription format and accessible on devices with a broadband connection.)