02_Elements/Icons/ArrowLeft 返回洞察力
洞察>电视和流媒体

个性化的 FAST 体验将在电视观众中脱颖而出

5 分钟阅读 | 2023 年 9 月

免费广告支持电视(FAST)平台正迅速获得观众的青睐。FAST 平台无需订阅,内容丰富,可为观众提供熟悉的节目和熟悉的体验。然而,FAST 平台还可以做得更多,以确保观众找到他们想要的内容。这在很大程度上是因为 FAST 平台是如何整合其内容的。

FAST 平台的形式多种多样,但 Roku Channel、Pluto TV 和 Tubi 等频道聚合器最为常见,覆盖范围也最大。与传统的视频点播(VOD)服务不同,FAST 平台像传统的有线电视服务(许多还提供 VOD)一样,按照线性时间表播放节目。

为了建立自己的内容库,频道聚合商通过与个别内容所有者(从大型媒体公司到独立所有者和发行商)达成发行协议来采购节目和电影。例如,Roku 频道包括来自 NBC 环球、华纳兄弟、Discovery、MotorTrend、FIFA、BBC、Jellysmack 和 Nosey 的频道。

FAST 中标准化元数据的重要性

虽然这对内容饥渴的观众来说是一大福音,但当频道数量增加时,来自不同内容所有者的大量内容也会给希望增强或个性化用户体验的平台带来挑战。例如,截至 4 月份,谷歌的电视直播服务拥有800 多个免费频道。如果没有标准的方法来制作描述单个节目和电影的元数据,搜索和发现通常就无法在平台层面得到优化。

对于拥有来自一系列发行商的海量内容目录的频道聚合商来说,元数据的质量、完整性和标准化可以简化以最能吸引受众的方式安排、分类和展示内容的过程。这正是元数据规范化和丰富化可以提供帮助的地方。

例如,内容所有者可以将丰富的规范化元数据应用到他们向频道聚合器分发的节目中,确保受众可以轻松找到这些节目。 

例如,Gracenote 的 "流媒体频道数据 "可以帮助平台客户更好地让观众在不熟悉特定节目标题时找到内容。这对于特定主题和话题的频道尤其有用,如真实犯罪、悬疑和战争。在这种情况下,描述性元数据、节目图像和连接 ID 可以为对特定主题感兴趣的观众提供最佳节目定位--即使他们并不熟悉具体的节目标题。

但是,元数据规范化和丰富化的重要性并不仅限于程序描述、属性、标识符和上下文。图像同样重要,甚至更为重要。这是因为图像是向观众推销节目或电影的主要方式。这给图像元数据带来了巨大的负担。由于每个 FAST 聚合器都有自己的用户体验,因此元数据图像必须充足。单一分辨率和比例的元数据图像无法普遍使用。

元数据的规范化和标准化只是个性化 FAST 频道的一个起点。当元数据与个人观众行为相结合时,可以帮助 FAST 平台确定个人观众观看内容的优先级。例如,Roku 和 NFL 最近在Roku 体育体验中 推出了 NFL Zone,为橄榄球球迷提供了一个集中的位置来查找观看直播和即将到来的比赛的地点。随着体育直播不断向流媒体服务过渡,观众将团结在解决方案和体验的周围,消除体育直播版权在各种服务和平台上日益分散的现象。

除了吸引观众,FAST 频道也越来越受到广告商的青睐。事实上,媒体研究机构 Digital TV Research 最近预测,全球 FAST 收入将从 2022 年的 60 亿美元增长2028 年的180 亿美元。鉴于 CTV 和 FAST 平台的数字化特性,丰富的元数据可以在程序化 CTV 供应链中实现大规模的上下文广告,从而为出版商和广告商带来直接价值。

例如,作为 A+E 的神秘电视 FAST 频道的特色节目之一,《解密绝密 UFO 项目》有 10 种不同属性的 29 个单独的 Gracenote 视频描述符。在没有第三方 cookie 的隐私优先环境中,这些描述符可以帮助进行上下文广告定位。当供需双方平台都能引用这些丰富的内容标签时,出版商就可以通过在竞价流中传递唯一的节目 ID 来实现情境广告。

流媒体行业的丰富选择使任何平台、服务或节目的命运都掌握在观众手中。随着 FAST 频道聚合器内容库的增加,成功与否将取决于它们能否将观众与他们正在寻找的内容快速联系起来。虽然广告商将明确监控各种服务的观看行为,但他们也可以利用数据改善观众体验,从而更好地为广告活动提供信息,并提供更加个性化的广告信息。

在即将到来的节日季中,有一系列值得庆祝的活动,内容发行商、平台和广告商有大量机会提高与受众的互动。万圣节首当其冲,而内容元数据则是为派对策划者、南瓜雕刻者、服装购物者或恐怖爱好者提供正确节目的关键。

如需了解更多信息,请下载我们最新的 报告该报告重点关注数据驱动的个性化和流媒体内容发现的重要性。

继续浏览类似的见解

02_Elements/Icons/ArrowLeft Back to Insight
Insights > TV & streaming

Personalized FAST experiences will stand out with TV audiences

5 minute read | September 2023

Free ad-supported television (FAST) platforms are quickly gaining traction with audiences. Accessible to viewers without a subscription and loaded with content, FAST platforms tout familiar programming and a familiar experience. FAST platforms can do more, however, to ensure that audiences are finding what they’re looking for. And much of that is because of how FAST platforms integrate their content.

FAST platforms can take different forms, but channel aggregators like the Roku Channel, Pluto TV and Tubi are the most common and have the greatest reach. Unlike traditional video on demand (VOD) services, FAST platforms stream their programming on a linear schedule, just like traditional cable services (many offer VOD as well).

To build their content libraries, channel aggregators source programs and movies through distribution deals with individual content owners ranging from massive media companies to independent owners and distributors. The Roku Channel, for example, includes channels from NBCUniversal, Warner Bros. Discovery, MotorTrend, FIFA, the BBC, Jellysmack and Nosey.

The importance of standardized metadata in FAST

While a boon for content-hungry viewers, the wealth of content sourced from different content owners can present challenges for platforms looking to enhance or personalize user experiences when channel counts rise. As of April, for example, Google’s live TV service boasted more than 800 free channels. When there is no standard approach for producing the metadata that describes individual programs and movies, search and discovery isn’t typically optimized at the platform level.

For channel aggregators with massive catalogs of content from an array of distributors, metadata quality, completeness and standardization can ease the process of arranging, sorting and showcasing content in ways that best engage audiences. That’s where metadata normalization and enrichment can help.

Content owners, for example, can apply rich, normalized metadata to the programming they distribute to channel aggregators to ensure that audiences can find it easily. 

Gracenote’s Streaming Channels Data, for example, helps platform customers better enable audiences to find content when they’re not familiar with specific programming titles. This is especially useful for theme- and topic-specific channels, such as true crime, mystery and war. Here, descriptive metadata, program imagery and connected IDs best position programming for viewers interested in focused topics—even when they’re not familiar with specific program titles.

But the importance of metadata normalization and enrichment isn’t limited to program descriptions, attributes, identifiers and context. Imagery is just as important, if not moreso. That’s because imagery is the primary way to merchandise a program or movie to viewers. This puts an enormous burden on image metadata. And because each FAST aggregator has its own user experience, metadata imagery needs to be ample. One metadata image in a single resolution and ratio will not work universally.

Normalizing and standardizing metadata is just a starting point for personalized FAST channels. When combined with individual viewer behavior, metadata can help FAST platforms prioritize what individual audiences see. Roku and the NFL, for example, recently launched the NFL Zone within the Roku Sports experience, which offers football fans a centralized location to find out where to watch live and upcoming games. As live sports continue transitioning to streaming services, audiences will rally around solutions and experiences that eliminate the growing fragmentation of live sports rights across various services and platforms.

In addition to appealing to audiences, FAST channels are increasingly gaining traction with advertisers. In fact, media research house Digital TV Research recently forecasted that global FAST revenue will grow from $6 billion in 2022 to $18 billion in 2028. And given the digital nature of CTV and FAST platforms, rich metadata can enable contextual advertising at scale within the programmatic CTV supply chain to bring immediate value to both publishers and advertisers.

For example, there are 29 individual Gracenote Video Descriptors across 10 different attributes for Top Secret UFO Projects Declassified, which is one of the featured programs on A+E’s Mystery TV FAST channel. In a privacy-first environment void of third-party cookies, these descriptors can assist in contextual ad targeting. Publishers can enable contextual ads by passing unique program IDs in the bidstream when the supply and demand side platforms are enabled to reference these rich content tags.

The streaming industry’s wealth of choice now puts the fate of any platform, service or program in the hands of the audience. And as FAST channel aggregators increase their content libraries, success will hinge on their ability to quickly connect viewers with content they’re looking for. And while advertisers will clearly monitor viewing behaviors across services, they too can improve audience experiences by leveraging data that can better inform their campaigns and deliver more personalized ad messages.

With an array of occasions to celebrate within the upcoming holiday season, content distributors, platforms and advertisers have an abundance of opportunities to up their engagement game with audiences. Halloween is up first, and content metadata can be the key to serving up the right programming, whether it be for party planners, pumpkin carvers, costume shoppers or horror enthusiasts.

For additional insights, download our latest State of Play report, which focuses on the importance of data-driven personalization and streaming content discovery.

Continue browsing similar insights

Our products can help you and your business

  • Streaming Content Ratings

    Uncover the viewing habits of streaming audiences to gain a more comprehensive view of your video content’s reach,…

  • Media Impact

    Find out where your customers are consuming media at a national or a local level with insights into your target…