跳转到内容
洞察力>观众

包容性的新篇章。LGBTQ+受众如何振兴传统媒体

3分钟阅读 | 2022年6月

全球对LGBTQ+群体的态度在过去十年左右发生了巨大的变化,随着内容的选择比以往任何时候都多,LGBTQ+受众正在涌向提供真实性和包容性的内容提供商和广告商。

在我们的国际LGBTQ+包容性媒体认知研究中接受调查的消费者发现,新兴媒体渠道的广告包容性最大。当谈到对包容性的看法时,社交媒体和影响者处于领先地位,而LGBTQ+人认为报纸和广播的包容性最低。

社交媒体和影响者尤其受到LGBTQ+受众的欢迎,因为他们提供了与社区真实成员的联系,而真实性对于有意义的包容是最重要的。根据我们的调查对象,避免刻板印象是提高内容包容性的首要方法,紧随其后的是需要更多的真实性和现实主义。 

影响者与其受众建立的真实联系可以对消费者行为产生巨大影响--相对于没有看到影响者广告的消费者,影响者广告推动了品牌亲和力和购买意向的9个百分点的增长1。 

而这种消费者的影响正出现在一个令人惊讶的地方:书店。例如, #BookTok社区,对于作者和出版商来说,已经具有指数级的意义。根据LGBTQ+BookTokker Kevin Norman的说法,"BookTok比其他任何社交媒体平台都能接触到更多的受众,而且它在将我们分成小众群体方面非常了不起"。BookTok在TikTok上获得了超过590亿的浏览量,为读者和作家提供了各种内容,但其最受欢迎和最具影响力的视频是书评。而所有这些浏览量正在转化为书商的大额销售。

除了NPD Bookscan报告在过去五年中LGBTQ+类型的 销售增长了740%之外, 尼尔森士嘉堡的数据强调,LGBTQ+的成年人不仅更有可能在书店购物,他们在过去三个月中最近购买的可能性也高出43%。

书籍并不是唯一从社交媒体影响者那里看到包容性提升的传统媒体渠道。虽然58%的调查对象认为杂志的包容性较差,但影响者正在与主要的出版物打交道,并将他们的社会名声转化为品牌的资本,以展示真实的代表性。

根据 尼尔森影响力调查(Nielsen InfluenceScope),模特、博客作者、化妆师、作家和演员维多利亚-沃尔科娃是墨西哥的顶级LGBTQ+影响力人物。她被认定为变性人,并因其对LGBTQ+权利的积极倡导而在2018年入选 福布斯最有影响力的女性名单。2020年,沃尔科娃成为《花花公子》墨西哥版封面上的第一位变性人,成为全球头条新闻。她在自己的Instagram上分享了这一封面,并发文称这是她个人自我接受历程中的一个里程碑。一些全球品牌,如摩托罗拉、李维斯、雅芳和Elle,都接受了她的影响,在墨西哥推销他们的品牌。

在巴西, 顶级LGBTQ+影响者Linn da Quebrada在2021年6月登上了《Vogue》巴西版的第一个 LGBTQ封面专题。作为一名变性说唱歌手,她用她开创性的音乐(混合了Funk Carioca和Hip Hop)来放大她对巴西同性恋和变性人社区的行动主义。最近,da Quebrada与绝对伏特加合作开展了户外营销活动。 

对LGBTQ+内容的兴趣增加,说明所有观众都希望看到庆祝多样性的内容。事实上,去年尼尔森的身份和代表性研究发现,87%的受访者对以他们自己身份群体以外的人为主角的内容感兴趣。品牌如果能更好地理解LGBTQ+体验中的细微差别,并与LGBTQ+影响者合作,与消费者创造真实的互动,就能提高包容性和投资回报率。 

欲知更多见解,请下载 寻求真实性。对国际LGBTQ+媒体看法的看法

请注意。

  1. 尼尔森品牌影响力研究,2022年第一季度

Skip to content
Insights > Media

A new chapter in inclusivity: How LGBTQ+ audiences are reviving traditional media

3 minute read | June 2022

Global attitudes about the LGBTQ+ community have evolved dramatically over the past decade or so, and with more choices for content than ever before, LGBTQ+ audiences are flocking to content providers—and advertisers—offering authenticity and inclusion.

Consumers surveyed for our international LGBTQ+ inclusive media perceptions study find the most advertising inclusion on emerging media channels. Social media and influencers lead the way when it comes to perceptions of inclusivity, while LGBTQ+ people view newspapers and radio as least inclusive.

Social media and influencers are especially popular with LGBTQ+ audiences because they offer connections with real members of the community, and authenticity is paramount for meaningful inclusion. According to our survey respondents, avoidance of stereotyping is the No. 1 way to improve inclusion in content, followed closely by the need for more authenticity and realism. 

The authentic connections influencers make with their audiences can have a big impact on consumer behavior—influencer ads drove a 9-point increase in both brand affinity and purchase intent relative to consumers who did not see the influencer ads1

And this consumer influence is showing up in a surprising place: bookstores. The #BookTok community, for example, has become exponentially significant for authors and publishers. According to LGBTQ+ BookTokker Kevin Norman, “BookTok can reach a wider audience than any other social media platform, and it’s amazing at separating us into niches.” Garnering over 59 billion views on TikTok, BookTok features a variety of content for readers and writers, but its most popular and influential videos are book reviews. And all of these views are turning into big sales for booksellers.

In addition to NPD Bookscan reporting a 740% increase in sales of the LGBTQ+ genre over the last five years, Nielsen Scarborough data highlights that LGBTQ+ adults aren’t just more likely to have shopped in a bookstore; they’re 43% more likely to have made a recent purchase in the past three months.

And books aren’t the only traditional media channel seeing an inclusion lift from social media influencers. While 58% of our survey respondents viewed magazines as less inclusive, influencers are making inroads with major publications, and turning their social celebrity into capital for brands who want to show authentic representation.

Model, vlogger, makeup artist, writer and actress Victoria Volkova is Mexico’s top LGBTQ+ influencer, according to Nielsen InfluenceScope. She identifies as a transgender woman and made the list of Forbes Most Powerful Women in 2018 for her activism for LGBTQ+ rights. Volkova made global headlines in 2020 when she became the first transwoman on the cover of Playboy Mexico. She shared the cover on her Instagram, with a post about how it was a milestone on her personal journey to self-acceptance. Several global brands like Motorola, Levi’s, Avon and Elle have embraced her influence to market their brands in Mexico.

In Brazil, top LGBTQ+ influencer Linn da Quebrada was featured in Vogue Brazil’s first LGBTQ cover feature in June 2021. A transgender rapper, she uses her groundbreaking music (a mix of funk carioca and hip hop) to amplify her activism for the queer and transgender community in Brazil. Most recently, da Quebrada partnered with Absolut Vodka in an outdoor marketing campaign. 

This increase in interest for LGBTQ+ content speaks to a larger desire by all audiences to see content that celebrates diversity. In fact, last year’s Nielsen identity and representation study found that 87% of respondents are interested in content featuring people from outside their own identity group. And brands that work to better understand the nuances within the LGBTQ+ experience and partner with LGBTQ+ influencers to create authentic engagements with consumers can increase inclusivity—and ROI. 

For additional insights, download Seeking authenticity: A view of international LGBTQ+ media perceptions

Note:

  1. Nielsen Brand Impact study, Q1 2022