02_Elements/Icons/ArrowLeft 返回洞察力
洞察>营销业绩

践行品牌承诺

4 分钟阅读 | Tina Wilson,成果部全球产品主管 | 2022 年 6 月

为了赢得消费者的关注和钱包,各品牌都在努力创造个性化的信息和产品,这已不是什么秘密。然而,仅靠个性化策略还不足以与消费者建立更有意义的长期关系。尼尔森第五次《年度营销报告》对全球营销人员进行了调查,报告显示,36% 的消费者越来越多地从他们喜爱的品牌中寻找更多的产品或服务,他们希望购买那些优先考虑社会事业、多样性和企业社会责任(CSR)倡议的公司的产品。

由于消费者的选择比以往任何时候都多,营销人员肩负的与消费者建立关系的责任比以往任何时候都重。消费者要求品牌提高透明度,要求品牌与重要的社会事业保持一致,因此,营销人员不仅要做出有意义的品牌承诺,还要兑现承诺,以吸引消费者,提高忠诚度。

驾驭与消费者的双向关系 

以前,品牌与消费者之间的关系纯粹是单向和交易性的--品牌提供商品或服务,消费者为之付费。随着消费者购买力的增强,这种动态关系转变为一种双向关系,消费者既在自己的网络上支持品牌,也在网络上批评品牌。因此,营销人员不得不更加密切地关注消费者的情绪,以确保消费者的期望得到满足,尤其是在品牌支持社会事业的情况下。

尼尔森-斯卡伯勒的数据显示,超过一半的美国消费者(52.3%)会购买支持他们所关心的事业的品牌;同样,超过 36% 的消费者希望他们购买的品牌能够支持社会事业。对此,全球营销人员表示,在营销工作中实现多元化、平等和包容,在购买广告的内容中实现多元化和包容,在选择供应商时实现多元化和包容,这些都是极其重要的。尽管营销人员将这些工作放在首位,但消费者并不信服:超过一半(55%)的消费者认为,品牌在支持社会事业方面并没有取得真正的进步。

营销人员必须与消费者建立信任,让他们了解品牌如何履行对社会事业的承诺。通过各种渠道传递真实、一致的信息,有助于向消费者确立和强化品牌的宗旨,揭示履行品牌承诺的直接行动。 

通过影响者营销和社交媒体放大品牌信息

根据尼尔森 2022 年度营销报告,64% 的全球营销人员认为社交媒体是最值得信赖的渠道,许多人在 Instagram 和 TikTok 等平台上获得了成功。事实证明,社交渠道在宣传品牌宗旨、明确品牌所支持的社会事业方面非常有效,而且可以与其他媒体一起放大信息。 

营销人员可以考虑投资影响者营销,以便在社交媒体上接触到合适的消费者。影响者营销虽然不一定是一种新渠道,但随着消费者寻求更多的人际联系,影响者营销的受欢迎程度与日俱增,全球消费者将影响者营销与亲朋好友推荐、品牌网站、电视广告和电视节目产品植入一起列为可信的营销策略。

要使影响者营销战略行之有效,营销人员必须确保找到支持相同事业的影响者。这将提高影响者营销活动的真实性,使消费者更有可能参与到内容中来。

倡导品牌安全

营销人员应考虑的另一个因素是其营销活动的背景,这可能会对其品牌承诺产生负面影响。例如,由于围绕 COVID-19 病毒的有害排外言论,在整个疫情期间,网上针对亚洲人的仇恨言论显著增加。但与此同时,广告仍然照常进行,这使品牌面临着因邻近的广告投放而与仇恨言论联系在一起的风险

这意味着营销人员需要提高对广告邻近内容的认识,在今年的年度营销报告中,绝大多数受访者(85%)都提到了这一点。营销人员还必须考虑如何将品牌安全更广泛地融入其整体营销活动中。通过与品牌安全合作伙伴、出版商和广告技术提供商合作,更好地了解广告投放选项,营销人员可以在满足消费者需求的同时,保持警惕,保持品牌声誉,从而保持承诺。

实现品牌承诺

营销人员希望与消费者建立更有意义的关系并提高品牌忠诚度,他们必须超越个性化信息的范畴。通过始终如一地履行品牌承诺,与消费者的情感保持一致,在竞争中脱颖而出,利用不同的社交媒体渠道接触消费者,并将品牌安全放在首位,他们将促进更深层次的消费者互动,从而全面提高投资回报率。

本文最初出现在 dmcny.com.

继续浏览类似的见解

Skip to content
Insights > Perspectives

Living up to a brand promise

4 minute read | Tina Wilson, Global Head of Product, Outcomes | June 2022

It’s no secret that brands have shifted their efforts to create personalized messages and offerings to earn consumers’ attention and wallets. However, personalization tactics alone won’t be enough to foster more meaningful, long-term relationships with their customers. According to Nielsen’s fifth Annual Marketing Report, which surveyed marketers from around the world, 36% of consumers are increasingly looking for more than just products or services from their favorite brands, and they want to buy from companies that prioritize social causes, diversity and corporate social responsibility (CSR) initiatives.

Since consumers have more choices than ever, the weight of responsibility that marketers shoulder to forge relationships with consumers has never been heavier. In response to consumers’ demands for more transparency from brands and that brands align with important social causes, marketers must not only make a meaningful brand promise, but also deliver on it, to attract consumers and increase loyalty.

Navigating the two-way relationship with consumers 

Previously, the relationship between brands and consumers was purely one-way and transactional—brands provided a good or service for which consumers paid. As consumers have gained more purchasing power, the dynamic shifted to a two-way relationship where consumers both champion and criticize brands to their networks. As a result, marketers have had to pay closer attention to consumer sentiments to ensure consumers’ expectations were being met, especially when it comes to brands supporting social causes.

Nielsen Scarborough data highlights that over half of U.S. consumers (52.3%) purchase from brands that support causes they care about; similarly, more than 36% expect the brands they buy from to support social causes. In response, global marketers reported that efforts such as diversity, equality and inclusion in their marketing efforts, diversity and inclusion in the content where ads are purchased, and diversity and inclusion in vendor selection are extremely important. Although marketers are prioritizing these efforts, consumers aren’t convinced: More than half (55%) of consumers feel as though brands are not making true progress when it comes to championing social causes.

Marketers must build trust with consumers and make them aware of how their brands are living up to their commitment to social causes. Authentic, consistent messaging through a mix of channels can help establish and fortify brands’ purpose to consumers, shedding light on direct actions that keep the brand’s promise. 

Amplifying brand messages through influencer marketing and social media

According to Nielsen’s 2022 annual marketing report, 64% of global marketers agreed that social media is the most bankable channel, with many finding success on platforms such as Instagram and TikTok. Social channels are proving effective at evangelizing brand purposes and making clear the social causes with which brands align, and can be leveraged with other mediums to magnify the message. 

Marketers may consider investing in influencer marketing to reach the right consumers on social media. Though not necessarily a new channel, influencer marketing’s popularity has grown as consumers have sought more interpersonal connections, and global consumers rank it as a credible marketing tactic, along with recommendations from family and friends, branded websites, ads on TV, and TV program product placements.

For influencer marketing strategies to be effective, marketers must ensure that they identify influencers who support the same causes. This lends authenticity to influencer marketing campaigns and makes it more likely that consumers will engage with the content.

Championing brand safety

Another consideration marketers should take into account is the context in which their campaigns are viewed that can negatively affect their brand promise. For example, due to the harmful, xenophobic rhetoric around the COVID-19 virus, online hate speech throughout the pandemic against Asians rose significantly. At the same time, though, advertising remained business-as-usual, which put brands at risk of being connected to hate speech due to an adjacent ad placement.

This means marketers need to have heightened awareness surrounding the content adjacent to their advertisements, which the overwhelming majority of respondents (85%) in this year’s annual marketing report stated. Marketers must also consider how brand safety more broadly fits into their overall campaigns. By working with brand safety partners, publishers and ad tech providers to glean better insights into ad placement options, marketers can stay vigilant in keeping their brand reputation—and therefore promise—intact while meeting consumer demands.

Making the brand promise a reality

As marketers look to build more meaningful relationships with consumers and increase brand loyalty, they must go beyond personalizing messages. By consistently fulfilling their brand promise to align with consumer sentiments, differentiating themselves from the competition, leveraging different social media channels to reach consumers, and prioritize brand safety, they will foster deeper consumer engagements that will yield an overall improvement in ROI.

This article originally appeared on dmcny.com