跳转到内容
洞察力>体育和游戏

足球在北美越来越受欢迎,对2026年世界杯赞助商意味着什么?

4分钟阅读|2022年11月

2026年,世界杯将有史以来第一次在三个国家举行。美国、加拿大和墨西哥的16个城市将举办比赛,这给品牌和广告商提供了一个扩大影响力的机会,并与整个北美不断增长的足球迷群体建立联系--如果他们知道在哪里寻找的话。 

北美足球的流行趋势正在转向,对赞助商和广告商有利。自2015年以来,美国已经有10家俱乐部加入MLS,而加拿大在2017年成立了加拿大超级联赛,目前有8支球队,墨西哥的Liga MX拥有北美联赛中最大的一些观众群1。 

这种新的流行正在创造未来主办国的足球球迷基地的热点。例如,在加拿大,自从宣布该国将主办10场2026年世界杯比赛以来,人们对足球的兴趣总体上增加了32.8%。而根据尼尔森-斯卡伯勒的数据,在美国,休斯顿是人均拥有最多足球迷的2026年世界杯主办城市,其次是洛杉矶和迈阿密/劳德代尔。

世界杯主办城市都有自己的足球俱乐部,所以球迷集中在这些地区是合理的。但是,重要的是,当地球队的知名度可以传播到周边地区,扩大了与地区球队或运动员合作的广告商的影响范围。

为了接触这些球迷,广告商正在使用Twitter、TikTok和Twitch等社交媒体网站。根据尼尔森的《2022年世界足球报告》,虽然免费电视仍然是足球迷观看体育比赛的首选方式(81%),但社交媒体现在是一个首选平台,72%的球迷声称他们使用应用程序来观看比赛。 

而当他们的球队表现出色时,球迷们就会涌向社交媒体,关注和喜欢并参与内容。例如,加拿大男队在获得36年来的第一次世界杯资格后,在2021/2022赛季的社交媒体内容和互动大幅增加。女子国家队在2021年东京奥运会上赢得金牌后,社交媒体的参与度也有类似的增加。

尼尔森球迷观察的数据显示,这次晋级也引发了加拿大人对足球的普遍兴趣,35.6%的人说他们现在比球队获得世界杯资格之前更有兴趣看足球。

各主办国的国家队足球迷更喜欢用YouTube看体育新闻和内容。虽然Twitch的使用比例最低,但与普通人相比,球迷在其使用上的指数明显超过。为了进一步扩大2022年世界杯的影响力,Twitch将首次在其报道中加入直播内容,授予巴西Twitch影响者Casimiro Miguel向其数百万粉丝直播比赛的权利。

除了赞助商在电视直播和社交媒体上获得的显著的屏幕观众曝光率外,尼尔森2021年的广告信任度研究发现,体育赛事中的品牌赞助仅次于朋友和家人的推荐,因为81%的消费者表示完全信任或有些信任它们(而89%的人信任推荐)。足球迷们也渴望了解更多关于赞助他们最喜欢的球队的品牌--56%人积极告知自己参与体育赞助的品牌。

但足球赞助不仅仅是一个提高品牌知名度的机会--它们可以成为球迷在购买时保持关注的关键。根据尼尔森球迷观察,67%的足球迷认为品牌在参与体育赞助时更有吸引力,如果价格和质量相同,59%的球迷会选择赞助商的产品而不是竞争对手的产品,而普通人的比例为45%。而尼尔森的《2022年全球体育报告》发现,赞助推动了被曝光的球迷群体的购买意向平均提升了10%。

随着2022年世界杯进入第一场比赛,场内场外都将决出胜负,广告商们会计算出赞助成本与对品牌知名度和收入的影响。想在2026年世界杯中抢占先机,并开始在北美市场取得早期进展的品牌,需要现在就开始计划活动,以2022年的势头为基础,将今天的球迷变成明天的客户。

Skip to content
Insights > Sports & gaming

What football’s growing popularity in North America means for 2026 World Cup sponsors

4 minute read | November 2022

In 2026, for the first time ever, the World Cup will be spread over three countries. Sixteen cities across the U.S., Canada and Mexico will host matches, giving brands and advertisers a chance to expand their reach and build connections with growing football fan bases across North America—if they know where to look. 

The tide of popularity is turning for football in North America, to the benefit of sponsors and advertisers. Since 2015, the U.S. has added 10 clubs to the MLS, while Canada founded the Canadian Premier League in 2017 with 8 current teams and Mexico’s Liga MX boasts some of the largest crowds of any North American league1

This new popularity is creating hotspots of football fan bases across future host countries. In Canada, for instance, interest in football in general has increased 32.8% since the announcement that the country will host ten 2026 World Cup matches. And according to Nielsen Scarborough, in the U.S. Houston is the 2026 World Cup host city with the most football fans per capita, followed by Los Angeles and Miami/Ft. Lauderdale.

World Cup host cities are home to their own football clubs, so fan concentration in these areas makes sense. But, importantly, the popularity of local teams can spread to surrounding areas, enlarging the sphere of influence for advertisers that partner with regional teams or athletes.

To reach these fans, advertisers are using social media sites like Twitter, TikTok and Twitch. According to Nielsen’s 2022 World Football Report, while free-to-air television is still the preferred method of viewing matches (81%) for football fans who watch sports, social media is now a go-to platform, with 72% of fans claiming they use apps to watch the action. 

And when their teams do well, fans flock to social media to follow and like and engage with content. The Canadian men’s team, for example, saw a significant increase in social media content & interactions in the 2021/2022 season after qualifying for their first World Cup in 36 years. The women’s national team saw a similar increase in social media engagement when they won gold in the 2021 Tokyo Olympics.

The qualification also sparked interest in football for Canadians in general, with 35.6% saying they are now more interested in watching football than before the team qualified for the World Cup, according to Nielsen Fan Insights.

National team football fans in each host country prefer YouTube for sports news and content. While Twitch is among the lowest used by percentage, fans over index significantly on its use compared to the general population. To further expand its reach for the 2022 World Cup, Twitch is adding a live streaming component to their coverage for the first time, granting Brazilian Twitch influencer Casimiro Miguel the rights to stream matches to his millions of followers.

In addition to the notable on-screen audience exposure that sponsors receive on both live TV and social media, Nielsen’s 2021 Trust in Advertising study found that brand sponsorships in sporting events rank just behind recommendations from friends and family, as 81% of consumers reported either completely or somewhat trusting them (vs. 89% who trust recommendations). Football fans are also eager to learn more about the brands sponsoring their favorite team—56% of percent actively inform themselves about brands engaged as a sports sponsor.

But football sponsorships are more than an opportunity to increase brand awareness—they can be the key to staying top of mind with fans when it comes time to make a purchase. According to Nielsen Fan Insights, 67% of football fans think brands are more appealing when they participate in sports sponsorships, and 59% would pick a sponsor’s product over a competitor’s if price and quality are the same, compared to 45% of the general population. And Nielsen’s 2022 Global Sports Report found that the sponsorships drove an average 10% lift in purchase intent among the exposed fanbase.

As the 2022 World Cup heads to the first match, winners and losers will be decided both on the field and off, with advertisers tallying up the cost of sponsorship against the impact on brand awareness and revenue. Brands that want to get ahead of the game for the 2026 World Cup and start making early inroads in North America need to start planning now for campaigns that can build on the momentum of 2022 and turn today’s fans into tomorrow’s customers.