跳转到内容
洞察力>广告

每个广告商都想知道的5个问题

7分钟阅读|2022年9月

你需要知道的关于覆盖率和投资回报率的内容

广告商被期望制定足够灵活的战略,以跟上时代的步伐,接触到逐渐变得更加孤立和小众的受众,在一个没有熟人的世界中航行,并最终弄清楚一切都在推动的投资回报。

有一些工具,如投资回报率测量,可以帮助你实现影响。但如果你也能得到一个更早的成功指标呢?

独特的覆盖率是无名的投资回报率英雄,让你有效地快速识别全新的潜在客户。事实上,2022年尼尔森对美国15个品牌和82个数字活动的研究显示,目标覆盖率和活动的投资回报率之间存在着非常强的关系。

那么,你能不能只按下唯一到达按钮,然后就收工了?如果有这么简单就好了。

我们分解了广告商在捕捉在线行为方面的常见问题的答案,以及如何使用指标来增加销售和证明媒体购买的合理性。

1.我怎样才能证明我的媒体支出的投资回报率?

保持简单。特别是当你与非营销人员交谈时,你需要解释复杂的指标和微观目标如何有助于实现更大的公司目标。 

你们公司的首要目标是什么?我们可以大胆猜测:增加收入。然而,除非消费者自己找到你,并向你投钱,否则你必须开发一个管道,将他们从被动的观众转化为主动的买家--这意味着接触。

如果你的营销没有达到新鲜的眼球,你就在向同样的人重复同样的信息。出于这个原因,独特的覆盖率是获取新客户的一个强有力的代理,这是任何成功的商业管道的顶端。

独特的触角让你。

  • 选择正确的媒体合作伙伴
  • 建立受众保障
  • 快速、持续地优化广告投放

这些结合在一起,使你能够与新客户沟通,并有效地发展你的品牌,而这个过程的最终结果是什么?积极的投资回报率。

至少,你需要跟踪你所花费的一切。随着高级出版商到围墙花园的迷宫,这意味着使用分析方法,如尼尔森的数字广告评级(DAR),它可以跟踪你的数字总支出的近90%和你的电视支出的100%。

仅仅因为你知道你的钱花得很好,并不意味着这是一个简单的故事,特别是对你公司的许多利益相关者来说,要简洁明了地讲述。 能够近乎实时地看到哪些是有效的,哪些是无效的,跨越平台、出版商和设备,是一个公司里的任何人都能轻松消化的故事。

我怎么知道我正在接触正确的受众?

几乎每个人都在通过电脑、智能手机、平板电脑和联网电视(CTV)实现数字足迹的多样化。广告商需要通过直接出版商的整合来获得重复的印象数据,以锁定当前的受众,以及新的受众。

广告业多年来一直依赖的Cookies、移动广告ID(MAID)和其他数字标识符正在走向消失。在它们缺席的情况下,现代数字战略应该优先考虑第一方数据和额外的优质数据资产,这些数据可以是认证的,也可以是未认证的。

  • 对于认证的数字流量。对 散列的电子邮件地址、统一身份证2.0和经核实的自我报告的人口统计标签进行三角测量。
  • 对于匿名流量。你需要一个机器学习模型,可以摄取多种指标,如时间、浏览器、内容、设备和平台信息,以建立你的受众档案。更好的是:将这些数据与一个有代表性的、基于人的小组进行校准,以确认你的算法的准确性。

即使是最基本的互联网用户也不只是在浏览一个网站。他们在互联网上跳来跳去,从高级出版商到围墙花园再到开放网络,因此很容易对同一个人进行多次统计。这意味着你需要重复计算你的指标,最好是使用像尼尔森的DAR这样的工具,该工具在尼尔森的身份系统上运行,包含20亿个重复的标识符。

拥有第一方、小组批准的重复数据是一项重大成就,但如果每个渠道都有自己独特的、孤立的数据,这又有什么用呢?为了了解你的内容在整个媒体领域的表现,你需要有类似的、可操作的指标。

我的媒体花费中有多少是浪费的?

随着媒体消费变得更加纠结,浪费你的媒体支出的风险继续上升。覆盖率是销售的一个早期指标。因此,如果你没有做好这一点,你就有可能失去潜在的收入。

坏消息。互联网是一个拥有数十亿条通道的蚁群,因此很难利用数据在正确的时间和地点吸引受众。事实上,品牌将近40%的数字广告浪费在错误的受众身上,29%的CTV广告支出到达非目标受众。

好消息是。如果使用得当,所有这些数据都可以转化为一个连贯的、受众至上的战略。关键在于平衡。

用大规模购买的方式撒下一张大网,确保你会抓住不需要的观众,而有针对性的广告意味着你可能会错过潜在的粉丝。你如何实现完美的融合?

你需要重新思考数字分析的基础:覆盖率和频率。

仅仅因为广告是向目标人群投放的,并不一定意味着他们正在建立覆盖面。如果广告不停地发给已经看过的人,情况也是如此。

你需要对你的影响力和频率进行整体评估。这意味着两件事。 

  1. 追踪到达你的目标受众的印象的一个目标百分比。 
  2. 到达率和频率指标,评估这些目标印象转化为到达率的情况。 

计算方法很简单。更高的覆盖率+更好的频率管理=更高的广告支出回报。

我应该如何即时改进我的活动?

使用机上指标和拥有你的数据是发现和利用广告机会的最佳方式。

数据是现代广告的命脉,所以控制你的数据是保持不断改进的最佳方式之一。基于广告支出的全球25大广告商中,有21家同意并选择拥有他们的数据,使他们能够看到整个活动,并通过几乎实时的行动来确定机会。

如今,趋势和口味的演变如此之快,你需要立即了解。这意味着需要一个单一的工具来分析跨平台的覆盖率、频率和总评分点,并每天提供数据,而不论活动的规模、平台或设备。

当你的内容跨越多个平台时,你需要知道谁在手机上看到了广告,谁在笔记本电脑上看到了广告,谁在两个地方都看到了广告--允许战略重复和增量覆盖。

有了这些洞察力,你可以更准确地确定你的广告是否达到了目标。如果没有,你就有工具来进行飞行中的调整或为下一波的优化。

我为什么要相信DAR的准确性?

如果你已经走到了这一步,你知道DAR几乎满足了所有观众的测量需求。剩下的唯一大问题是。你为什么要相信它?

DAR依靠的是尖端技术和行业中最具代表性的真相小组。这种人机组合提供的数据远比大数据集、电话调查或从数字设备自动收集的指标更准确。

请允许我们吹响自己的号角。

  • 尼尔森是全球测量领域的领导者,拥有100多年的历史记录。 
  • 十多年来,DAR一直是一个值得信赖的解决方案
  • 仅在2020年,我们就在26个国家测量了超过1万亿的数字印象。
  • 在全球前25名的广告商中,有21家在使用我们。
  • 我们是覆盖面上的行业领导者,追踪87%的电脑、手机和CTV广告支出。

我们在这里梳理所有我们能找到的数据集,无论它们是尼尔森面板、第三方供应商,还是那些直接来自出版商的数据。

但我们并不满足于让机器做所有的工作。我们将我们的覆盖数据与人类的洞察力相结合,然后我们用其他指标来填补缺失的信息:真相集数据、先进的机器学习方法、第三方身份解决方案和复杂的统计技术。

其结果是DAR

DAR不仅仅是精确的。它是动态的,足以帮助你驾驭不断变化的内容、平台和消费者偏好的世界。DAR让你了解你是否达到了你的目标受众,即时调整你的战略,并向拉动预算的人证明你的每一步行动。

收获。你需要知道的一切,一目了然 

  1. 独特的覆盖率+更好的频率管理=更少的广告费浪费。
  2. 广告商需要重复的 受众测量,以验证一旦个人标识符消失,广告是否到达了正确的受众。 
  3. 使用飞行中的指标和拥有你的数据是发现和利用广告投资回报率机会的最佳方式。 
  4. 广告商需要用跨平台的可比指标来跟踪他们的整个广告支出,以获得完整的绩效情况。 
  5. DAR依靠尖端技术和无偏见的代表真相小组,为上述所有问题提供解决方案。

Skip to content
Insights > Advertising

5 questions every advertiser wants answered

7 minute read | September 2022

What you need to know about reach and ROI

Advertisers are expected to create strategies nimble enough to keep up with the times, reach audiences that are progressively more insular and niche, navigate a cookieless world, and, ultimately, figure out what ROI everything’s driving.

There are tools, like ROI measurement, that help you realize impact. But what if you could get an earlier indicator of success, too?

Unique reach is the unsung ROI hero, letting you effectively identify brand-new potential customers quickly. In fact, a 2022 Nielsen study of 15 brands and 82 digital campaigns in the U.S. revealed that there is a very strong relationship between target reach and campaign ROI.

So, can you just push the unique reach button and call it a day? If only it were that easy.

We break down answers to common questions advertisers have about capturing online behavior and how to use metrics to grow sales and justify media buys.

How can I prove my media spend’s ROI?

Keep it simple. Especially when you’re talking to non-marketing folks, you need to explain how complicated metrics and micro-targeting contribute to larger company goals. 

What’s your company’s primary goal? We’ll take a wild guess: increase revenue. However, unless consumers are finding you on their own and throwing money your way, you’ve got to develop a pipeline to convert them from passive audience to active buyer—that means reach.

If your marketing isn’t reaching fresh eyeballs, you’re repeating the same message to the same people. For this reason, unique reach is a powerful proxy for new customer acquisition, which is at the top of any successful business pipeline.

Unique reach lets you:

  • Select the right media partners
  • Establish audience guarantees 
  • Quickly and continuously optimize ad placements

Combined, these allow you to communicate with new customers and grow your brand efficiently—and what’s the end result of that process? Positive ROI.

At the very least, you need to track everywhere you’re spending. With the labyrinth of premium publishers to walled gardens, that means using analytics, like Nielsen’s Digital Ad Ratings (DAR), that can follow nearly 90% of your total digital spend and 100% of your television spend.

Just because you know your money is well spent doesn’t mean that’s an easy story to tell succinctly, especially to the many stakeholders at your company.  Being able to see in nearly real-time what’s working—and what isn’t—across platforms, publishers and devices is a story that anyone in your company can easily digest.

How do I know I’m reaching the right audience?

Nearly everyone is diversifying their digital footprint across computers, smartphones, tablets and connected TV (CTV). Advertisers need deduplicated impression data through direct publisher integrations in order to target current audiences—and new ones, too.

Cookies, mobile advertising IDs (MAIDs) and other digital identifiers that the advertising industry has relied on for years are on their way out. In their absence, modern digital strategies should prioritize first-party data and additional premium data assets, which can be authenticated or unauthenticated.

  • For authenticated digital traffic: Triangulate hashed email addresses, Unified ID 2.0 and verified self-reported demographic labels.
  • For anonymous traffic: You need a machine learning model that can ingest multiple metrics—like time, browser, content, device and platform information—to build a profile of your audience. Better yet: calibrate that data against a representative, people-based panel that can confirm the accuracy of your algorithm.

Even the most basic internet users aren’t just browsing one site. They’re ricocheting across the internet, from premium publishers to walled gardens to the open web, making it easy to count the same person multiple times. That means you need to deduplicate your metrics, ideally using a tool like Nielsen’s DAR, which runs on Nielsen’s Identity System and contains 2 billion deduplicated identifiers.

Having first-party, panel-approved, deduplicated data is a major accomplishment, but what good is it if every channel has its own unique and siloed data? To understand how your content’s performing across the entire media landscape, you need metrics that are analogous and interoperable.

How much of my media spend is wasted?

As media consumption becomes more tangled, the risk of wasting your media spend continues to rise. Reach is an early indicator of sales. So if you don’t get that right, you risk losing out on potential revenue.

The bad news: The internet is an ant colony with billions of passageways, making it difficult to use data to engage audiences in the right place and the right time. In fact, brands waste nearly 40% of their digital advertising on the wrong audiences, and 29% of CTV ad spend reaches off-target audiences.

The good news: When used correctly, all of this data can be translated into a coherent, audience-first strategy. The key is balance.

Casting a wide net with a mass buy ensures you’ll capture an unwanted audience, whereas targeted advertising means you might miss out on potential fans. How do you strike the perfect blend?

You need to rethink the bedrocks of digital analytics: reach and frequency.

Just because ads are going to the target demographic doesn’t necessarily mean they are building reach. The same is true if ads keep going to people who have already seen them.

You need a holistic evaluation of your reach and frequency. That means two things: 

  1. An on-target percentage that tracks the impressions that reach your target audience. 
  2. Reach and frequency metrics that evaluate how well these on-target impressions are converted into reach. 

The math is simple. Higher reach + better frequency management = higher returns on ad spend.

How should I improve my campaign on the fly?

Using in-flight metrics and owning your data are the best ways to spot and capitalize on advertising opportunities.

Data is the lifeblood of modern advertising, so controlling yours is one of the best ways to maintain a ready stance for constant improvement. Twenty-one of the top 25 global advertisers based on ad spend agree and choose to own their data, allowing them to see across campaigns and identify opportunities as only they can—by acting in nearly real-time.

Trends and tastes evolve so quickly today that you need immediate learnings. That means a single tool that analyzes reach, frequency and gross rating points across platforms and delivers data daily, regardless of the size of the campaign, the platform or the device.

And when your content spans multiple platforms, you need to know who saw an ad on their phone, who saw it on their laptop and who saw it both places—allowing for strategic duplication and incremental reach.

With these insights, you can more accurately determine if your advertising is meeting the mark. If not, you have the tools to make in-flight adjustments or to optimize for the next wave.

Why should I trust DAR’s accuracy?

If you’ve made it this far, you know that DAR scratches nearly every audience measurement itch. The only big question left: Why should you trust it?

DAR relies on cutting-edge technology and the industry’s best representative truth panel. That human-machine combo provides data that are far more accurate than just big data sets, phone surveys or metrics automatically collected from digital devices.

Allow us to toot our own horn.

  • Nielsen is a global measurement leader with a 100-plus year track record 
  • DAR has been a trusted solution for over a decade
  • In 2020 alone, we measured over 1 trillion digital impressions in 26 countries
  • We’re used by 21 of the top 25 global advertisers.
  • We’re the industry leader on coverage, tracking 87% of computer, mobile and CTV ad spend.

We’re out here combing all the data sets we can find, whether they’re Nielsen panels, third-party providers, or those direct from publishers.

But we aren’t satisfied with letting machines do all the work. We combine our coverage data with human insight, and then we fill in the missing information with other metrics: truth-set data, advanced machine learning methodologies, third-party identity solutions and sophisticated statistical techniques.

The result is DAR.

DAR isn’t just precise. It’s dynamic enough to help you navigate the constantly-shifting world of content, platforms and consumer preferences. DAR lets you understand if you’re reaching your target audience, calibrate your strategy on the fly, and justify every move to the person pulling the budget strings.

The Takeaway: Everything you need to know, at a glance 

  1. Unique reach + better frequency management = less wasted ad dollars.
  2. Advertisers need deduplicated audience measurement to verify if ads are reaching the right audiences once personal identifiers go away. 
  3. Using in-flight metrics and owning your data are the best ways to spot and capitalize on ad ROI opportunities. 
  4. Advertisers need to track their entire ad spend with comparable metrics across platforms to get the full performance picture. 
  5. DAR relies on cutting-edge technology and unbiased representative truth panels to provide solutions for all the above.