跳至内容
02_Elements/Icons/ArrowLeft 返回洞察力
洞察>数字与技术

数据驱动的营销在于细节

3 分钟阅读 | 业务发展高级总监 Matan Bik | 2019 年 3 月

在当今世界,制定数据驱动型营销战略对任何组织都至关重要。为此,大多数营销人员都会求助于数据管理平台(DMP)来帮助他们发布和执行各自的战略。根据尼尔森 CMO 报告,美国 63% 的营销人员认为 DMP 是最重要的三大营销和测量技术之一。

鉴于这种需求,DMP 市场上挤满了数以百计的供应商,他们声称自己拥有营销人员在数据驱动的世界中取得成功所需的各种功能,这也就不足为奇了。但是,在如此众多的供应商为脱颖而出而战的情况下,许多营销人员无法真正区分竞争解决方案也就不足为奇了。公平地说,从鹰眼的角度来看,我不知道是否有办法做到这一点。

但是,如果你仔细观察细节,就会发现并非所有的 DMP 都是一样的。如果营销人员知道要问什么问题,他们就能突破流行语和营销行话的束缚,找出真正适合自己需求的 DMP。有许多用例和功能可以区分 DMP,尤其是在不同的垂直行业和产业中,但有一些核心功能是所有 DMP 都必须具备的,营销人员在做出购买决策时应仔细评估这些功能。

DMP 能以多快的速度整理我的数据并使其具有可操作性?

要成为 DMP,平台必须能够摄取和集中第一方数据。然而,营销人员必须问自己的问题是:"我的 DMP 能否以客户的速度运行?请允许我详细说明一下:大多数 DMP 都会实时摄取客户数据;但是,并非所有 DMP 都能以相同的速度(即收到数据后立即处理)处理数据。

即使 DMP 接收到了数据信号,它仍需要将信号归属于正确的用户及其相关分段,以便正确激活。有些 DMP 能够实时处理数据,但有些只能每小时或每天处理数据。对于营销人员(如电子商务人员)来说,处理时间可能就是潜在客户转化与否的分水岭。例如,假设一位消费者访问了一个电子商务网站,并选购了某种产品。如果用户没有转化,电子商务网站应该能够通过促销广告重新锁定此人。如果此人在同一小时、同一天等时间内继续浏览网络上的竞争产品,而电子商务的 DMP 不能迅速做出反应,那么公司就失去了保持用户关注度和转化用户的最佳时机。

DMP 识别和接触正确人群的速度也至关重要。这可能意味着广告费用最大化与浪费之间的差别。特别是在汽车市场,在消费者购买汽车后,在广告活动中抑制广告对减少广告浪费至关重要。一旦潜在客户购买了汽车,任何额外的广告曝光都将被视为浪费。因此,DMP 必须能够分析新的数据信号,并在信号出现时加以执行。DMP 识别特定买家并将其排除在某一媒体活动之外所需的时间越长,您就越有可能把钱扔到窗外,投放不相关的广告。

继续浏览类似的见解

Skip to content
Insights > Perspectives

Data-Driven Marketing is in the Details

3 minute read | Matan Bik, Senior Director, Business Development | March 2019

In today’s world, crafting a data-driven marketing strategy is critical for any organization. To that end, most marketers turn to data management platforms (DMPs) to help them deliver and execute their respective strategies. According to the Nielsen CMO report, 63% of marketers in the U.S. consider DMPs one of the top three most important marketing and measurement technologies.

Given this demand, it’s not surprising that the DMP marketplace is crowded with hundreds of vendors claiming that they have the bells and whistles marketers need to succeed in the data-driven world we now operate in. But with so many vendors fighting to stand out, it’s no surprise that many marketers aren’t able to truly differentiate the competing solutions. And to be fair, from an eagle’s eye view, I don’t know that there is a way to.

If you look closer at the details, however, you’ll find that not all DMPs are created equal. Underlying fundamental differences still separate DMPs from one another, and when marketers know what questions to ask, they can break through the buzz words and marketing lingo to identify which DMP is truly the right fit for their needs. There are many use cases and features that can differentiate DMPs, especially across different verticals and industries, but there are a handful of core functionalities that all DMPs must have, and marketers should evaluate them closely as they go through their buying decisions.

How fast can the DMP organize my data and make it actionable?

In order to be considered a DMP, a platform needs to be able to ingest and centralize first-party data. The question that marketers must ask themselves, however, is “Can my DMP perform at the speed of my customer?” Allow me to elaborate; most DMPs will ingest customer data in real-time; however, not all DMPs process the data at the same speed (i.e., as soon as they receive it).

Even though a DMP has ingested a data signal, it still needs to attribute the signal to the right user and its associated segment(s) for proper activation. Some DMPs are capable of processing data in real time, yet some only process data on an hourly or daily basis. To marketers, such as those in e-commerce, processing time can be the difference between converting a prospect and not converting. For example, let’s say a consumer visits an e-commerce site and shops for a particular product. If the user doesn’t convert, the e-commerce site should be able to re-target this person with a promotional ad. If the person continues browsing the web for competitive products within the same hour, day, etc., and the e-commerce’s DMP can’t react quickly, then the company loses a prime opportunity to remain top of mind and convert the user.

The speed at which a DMP can identify and reach the right people is also crucial. It can mean the difference between maximizing or wasting your ad dollars. In the auto market in particular, suppressing ads during a campaign to consumers after they’ve made a purchase is essential to minimizing ad waste. Once a prospective customer has purchased a vehicle, any additional ad exposure would be considered a waste. For this reason, it’s vital that a DMP can analyze new data signals and execute on them as they come in. The longer it takes a DMP to identify and communicate that a particular buyer should be excluded from a certain media campaign, the more likely it is that you’ll be throwing money out the window and delivering irrelevant ads.