跳至内容
02_Elements/Icons/ArrowLeft 返回洞察力
洞察>电视和流媒体

代表性内容推动流媒体平台的狂欢性

4 分钟阅读 | 2023 年 1 月

如果说观众在收看节目时希望看到什么,那就是看到他们能产生共鸣的故事和经历。这就是代表性的基本前提,它可以直接影响收视率。它还能激发观众观看更多内容的欲望--这是在内容选择不断增加的情况下取得成功的关键因素。

根据尼尔森(Nielsen)最新的 "电视代表态度 "研究,34% 的受访者表示,他们认为没有足够的内容能够代表他们。在某些种族群体中,这种看法更为极端。

研究中的受访者还注意到代表性对其观看行为的影响,53% 的受访者表示他们更有可能观看包容性内容,而 2021 年这一比例仅为 47%。

为了验证内容中代表性的重要性,我们使用Gracenote Inclusion Analytics查看了 2021-22 电视季中观看人数最多的流媒体节目以及这些节目中的代表性。然后,我们应用了新的尼尔森 Gracenote 数据集,该 数据集可用于评估观众观看更多剧集的可能性。在超过 973 部流媒体节目中,有 326 部的 "狂欢度 "达到或超过 3 分。在 "狂欢性 "量表中,3 分或更高的节目被认为是 "高度狂欢 "的节目。在这些可 "阅 "性高的节目中,有 232 个节目(超过 71%)包含了一个或多个代表性不足的种族/民族身份群体。

在一项更有针对性的分析中,尼尔森考察了一些线性和流媒体节目,这些节目中美国原住民和土著居民的比例高于他们在美国的比例(2.9%)。在每种情况下,这些内容都吸引了新的观众,并在观众观看了他们前来观看的节目后保持了相当一部分观众。

  • Reservation Dogs》第二季于 2021 年在 Hulu 首播,吸引了 140 万观众,这些观众在观看《Reservation Dogs》之前未在 Hulu 上观看过任何内容。在这些观众中,23% 的人除了观看《Reservation Dogs》外,还继续观看了其他内容。
  • 在 AMC 播出的 2022 年电视剧《黑暗风云》吸引了 280 万观众,这些观众在观看《黑暗风云》 之前没有在 AMC 观看过任何内容在这些观众中,15% 的观众在观看《黑暗风云》之外还观看了其他内容。

这些分析凸显了代表性内容的力量,同时也揭示了向受众提供相关内容的影响--随着新节目和服务的上市,这一点将越来越具有挑战性。例如,2022 年 9 月,观众可以通过线性节目和流媒体服务收看的视频节目超过 923,000 种2。其中,流媒体平台上的视频节目超过 778,000 种。

节目数量从 2019 年 12 月的 64.6 万多个增加到现在的如此之多,这使得观众越来越难找到他们想要的内容,尤其是当他们不知道自己具体在找什么的时候。根据尼尔森最新的流媒体内容消费者调查,24% 的流媒体受众在开始搜索之前不知道自己想看什么。这一点,再加上内容和平台的增长,直接影响了观众花在寻找而不是观看上的时间。如果他们找不到想看的内容,服务就有可能将他们流失到其他服务。

撇开搜索时间不谈,流媒体视频现在代表着观众参与电视内容的未来方式。从 2021 年 10 月到 2022 年 10 月,观众每周使用流媒体的时间增加了 30% 以上。随着年末假期期间电视收视率的激增,流媒体在 电视总使用量中的占比也从去年同期的 27.7% 增长到了 12 月份的38.1%。大量的节目选择和不同服务之间的割裂说明了向渴望内容的观众提供相关选择的重要性。对于希望最大限度提高观众参与度的创作者、出版商和发行商来说,代理是一个强有力的杠杆。

有关多元化人才对媒体的影响的更多见解,请下载我们的 银幕上的视线》(Being Seen on Screen)报告

说明

  1. 狂欢性得分衡量观众平均每天观看的节目集数,以量化观众连续观看多集节目的倾向。
  2. Gracenote 全球视频数据

继续浏览类似的见解

Skip to content
Insights > TV & streaming

Representative content drives bingeability across streaming platforms

4 minute read | January 2023

If there’s one thing audiences want when they tune in to watch a program, it’s to see stories and experiences they can relate to. That’s the basic premise of representation, and it can have a direct impact on viewership. It can also fuel an audience’s appetite to watch more content—a critical component to success in an ever-growing landscape of content choice.

According to Nielsen’s latest Attitudes on Representation on TV study, 34% of respondents said they don’t think there is enough content that represents them. Among certain ethnic groups, the perceptions are more extreme.

Respondents in the study also noted the impact of representation on their viewing behaviors, as 53% said they would be more likely to watch inclusive content—up from 47% in 2021.

To validate the importance of representation in content, we used Gracenote Inclusion Analytics to look at the most viewed streaming programming  and the representation within those programs in the 2021-22 TV season. We then applied a new Nielsen Gracenote data set that can be used to assess the likelihood that an audience will watch additional episodes. Among the more than 973 streaming titles, 326 had bingeability scores of 3 or higher. On the bingeability scale, programs with a score of 3 or higher are considered highly bingeable. Of these highly bingeable programs, 232—more than 71%—were inclusive of one or more under-represented racial/ethnic identity groups.

In a more focused analysis, Nielsen looked at a selection of linear and streaming programs with Native American and Indigenous representation levels above their representation in the U.S. (2.9%). In each case, the content attracted new audiences and maintained a sizeable portion of the audience after viewers watched the program they came to see.

  • Season 2 of Reservation Dogs, which debuted on Hulu in 2021, attracted 1.4 million viewers who had not watched any content on Hulu before coming to watch Reservation Dogs. Of this audience, 23% stayed to watch other content in addition to Reservation Dogs.
  • Dark Winds, a 2022 drama airing on AMC attracted 2.8 million viewers who had not watched any content on AMC before coming to watch Dark Winds. Of this audience, 15% stayed to watch other content in addition to Dark Winds.

While these analyses highlight the power of representative content, they also illuminate the impact of delivering relevant content to audiences—something that will grow increasingly challenging as new programming and services come to market. In September 2022, for example, there were more than 923,000 video titles2 available to audiences across linear programming and streaming services. Of those titles, more than 778,000 were on streaming platforms.

That expanse of programming, which is up from just over 646,000 back in December 2019, makes it increasingly difficult for audiences to find what they’re looking for—especially if they don’t know what they’re specifically looking for. According to Nielsen’s latest streaming content consumer survey, 24% of streaming audiences don’t know what they want to watch before they start searching. That, plus the growth of content and platforms, has a direct impact on the time audiences spend looking instead of watching. And if they can’t find something to watch, a service runs the risk of losing them to a different one.

Time spent searching aside, streaming video now represents the future of how audiences will engage with TV content. Between October 2021 and October 2022, audiences increased their weekly time spent streaming by more than 30%. And as TV viewing surged during the year-end holidays, streaming had grown to account for 38.1% of total TV usage in December, up from 27.7% a year earlier. The immense amount of program choice and fragmentation across services speaks to the importance of delivering relevant options to content-hungry audiences. For creators, publishers and distributors looking to maximize audience engagement, representation is a powerful lever.

For additional insights on the impact of diverse talent in media, download our Being Seen on Screen report.

Notes

  1. Bingeability scores measure the average number of show episodes viewers watched per day to quantify viewer propensity to consume multiple episodes in a row.
  2. Gracenote Global Video Data