跳至内容
02_Elements/Icons/ArrowLeft 返回洞察力
洞察>受众

黑人音频消费者:为广告商带来超过 10 亿美元的商机

4 分钟阅读 | 2022 年 12 月

如今,黑人消费者占美国人口的 14%,拥有近 2 万亿美元的购买力。为了打入这个日益壮大且极具影响力的群体,各品牌纷纷在媒体领域投入巨资,试图将受众转化为买家。尼尔森发布的《2022 年黑人融入媒体报告》发现,仅在 2022 年上半年,就有 6000 多家广告商花费了超过 12 亿美元,试图与黑人和非裔美国消费者建立联系。

虽然有些媒体可能无法引起黑人受众的共鸣,但音频--尤其是广播和播客--是吸引黑人社区甚至影响购买决策的高效渠道。

广播作为最初的广告支持媒体,每月覆盖 92% 的黑人消费者,再加上广告支持和无广告流媒体音乐服务、播客和卫星广播的未重复受众,总覆盖率达到惊人的 99%。如果将覆盖率与曝光时间结合起来--黑人消费者每周在广播上花费的时间超过 200 亿分钟--就不难看出,音频为渴望与黑人受众建立联系的广告商提供了巨大商机。

广播是数百万人的日常伴侣,对广告商来说是一种特别有效的媒体,因为它能在消费者外出通勤、工作和购物的高峰时段接触到他们。在经历了几年的大范围干扰后,人们在车内的时间在不断增加,广播仍然是黑人消费者在车内的主要音频来源。

值得注意的是黑人拥有的广播电台的特殊吸引力及其吸引和吸引黑人听众的能力。在所有听众中,黑人拥有的广播电台每周覆盖 1100 万听众,其中黑人消费者有 620 万,占总听众的 56%。事实上,黑人拥有的广播电台覆盖了黑人总人口的近四分之一(21%),这为品牌和广告商提供了一个巨大的机会,让他们能够在黑人消费者所在的地方--在汽车里收听广播。

广告商开始注意到黑人广播电台的力量,并相应地进行投资--2022 年,黑人广播电台的广告支出与去年同期相比增长了 80%。

但是,即使拥有如此惊人的规模,黑人拥有的媒体并不总是媒体计划中旨在触及黑人消费者的一部分。品牌和广告商可以通过主动寻求与黑人拥有的电视台合作,并投资于对黑人社区重要的内容,来改变这些差距。

"第一电台地区副总裁迪昂-莱温斯顿(Deon Levingston)说:"由黑人社区自己的声音传递真实的信息,是无与伦比的组合。"听众信任黑人拥有的媒体机构,他们在重要的地方、在地方和全国范围内接触听众,始终为放大美国黑人的声音提供麦克风"。

与黑人拥有的电台合作不仅能扩大覆盖面,还能帮助广告商在消费者购买时将其品牌牢记于心。尼尔森-斯卡伯勒公司(Nielsen Scarborough)的数据显示,例如,家庭和个人护理品牌可以与黑人拥有的广播电台合作,在黑人消费者中建立品牌知名度,因为黑人消费者更有可能根据口碑转向新品牌。在未来的一年里,与黑人拥有的电台合作为品牌提供了建立信任、信誉和客户群的机会。

广播并不是唯一对黑人听众产生影响的音频渠道。播客也越来越受黑人听众的欢迎,35% 的黑人日常消费者在过去两年中刚刚开始收听播客。与两年前相比,黑人播客听众收听的频率更高,收听的节目也更多,44% 的人说他们收听的频率更高,35% 的人说他们收听的节目更多4

面对数万亿的购买力,广告商不能错过黑人消费者。虽然流媒体和社交媒体等新媒体正在抢占广告预算,但希望最大限度地扩大黑人受众覆盖面和影响力的品牌和广告商应该将音频作为多渠道营销活动不可或缺的一部分。

备注

  1.  2020 年美国人口普查
  2.  佐治亚大学特里商学院塞利格经济增长中心,2021 年 6 月
  3.  尼尔森广告英特尔,黑人广播电台,PPM 市场,2021 年上半年与 2022 年上半年对比
  4.  尼尔森定制消费者情绪研究,2022 年 3 月

继续浏览类似的见解

02_Elements/Icons/ArrowLeft Back to Insight
Insights > Audiences

Black audio consumers: A $1T+ opportunity for advertisers

4 minute read | December 2022

Black consumers today represent 14% of the U.S. population and nearly $2 trillion buying power. And to make inroads with this growing and influential group, brands are investing heavily in media to try and turn audiences into buyers. Nielsen’s 2022 report on Black inclusion in media found that, in the first half of 2022 alone, more than 6,000 advertisers spent over $1.2 billion trying to connect with Black and African American consumers.

And while some media outlets can fail to resonate with Black audiences, audio—especially radio and podcasts—stand out as efficient and effective channels to engage the Black community and even influence purchase decisions.

Radio, the original ad-supported medium, reaches 92% of Black consumers monthly, and the addition of unduplicated audiences from ad-supported and ad-free streaming music services, podcasts and satellite radio, brings total reach to an incredible 99%. And when you combine reach with exposure time—Black consumers spend over 20 billion minutes with radio in a given week—it’s easy to see the opportunity audio provides for advertisers keen to connect with Black audiences.

A daily companion for millions, radio can be a particularly effective medium for advertisers because it reaches consumers during peak action hours while they are out of home commuting, working—and shopping. And with time in vehicles on the rise after several years of pandemic disruption, radio continues to be the primary audio source for Black consumers in the car.

Of note is the exceptional draw of Black-owned radio stations and their ability to attract and engage Black audiences. Among all audiences, Black-owned radio stations reach 11 million listeners weekly with Black consumers making up 6.2 million, or 56%, of the total audience. In fact, nearly a quarter (21%) of the total Black population is reached by Black-owned radio stations, representing a huge opportunity for brands and advertisers to meet Black consumers where they are—in the car and tuned in to the radio.

Advertisers are beginning to take note of the power of Black-owned stations and are investing accordingly—2022 saw an 80% increase in ad spend with Black-owned radio stations compared to the same period last year.

But even with such incredible scale, Black-owned outlets have not always been a part of the media plans designed to reach Black consumers. Brands and advertisers can change these disparities by proactively seeking out partnerships with Black-owned stations, and investing in content that matters to the Black community.

“Authentic messages, delivered by the voices who are part of the Black community themselves, is an unbeatable combination,” said Deon Levingston, Regional Vice-President Radio One. “Listeners trust Black-owned media outlets, and they reach audiences where it matters, locally and nationally, always providing a microphone to amplify the voice of Black America.”

Partnering with Black-owned stations doesn’t just increase reach, it can also help advertisers keep their brand top-of-mind with consumers when it comes time to make a purchase. Home and personal care brands, for example, can work with Black-owned radio stations to build their brand awareness among Black consumers who are more likely to switch to a new brand based on reputation, according to Nielsen Scarborough. In the year ahead, investing with Black-owned stations presents opportunities for brands to build trust, credibility and their customer base.

Radio isn’t the only audio channel making an impact with Black listeners. Podcasts are also becoming increasingly popular with Black audiences, with 35% of Black daily consumers  just starting listening to podcasts within the past two years. And Black podcast audiences are listening more often and to more titles than they did two years ago, with 44% saying they listen more often, and 35% saying they listen to more titles4.

With trillions in buying power at stake, advertisers can’t afford to miss with Black consumers. And while new media like streaming and social media are taking over ad budgets, brands and advertisers looking to maximize reach and impact with Black audiences should embrace audio as an integral part of multichannel campaigns.

Notes:

  1.  2020 U.S. Census
  2.  Selig Center for Economic Growth, Terry College of Business, The University of Georgia, June 2021
  3.  Nielsen Ad Intel, Black-owned radio stations, PPM markets, 1H 2021 vs. 1H 2022
  4.  Nielsen Custom Consumer Sentiment Study, March 2022

Continue browsing similar insights