02_Elements/Icons/ArrowLeft 返回洞察力
视角>观点

饼干之后是什么?

5 分钟阅读 | Molly Poppie | 2024 年 6 月
Molly Poppie,尼尔森全球产品与战略主管

近三十年来,第三方 cookie 在在线广告、内容设计和分析方面发挥了至关重要的作用,使广告商能够向消费者提供相关广告和个性化体验,并使尼尔森等测量公司能够提供宝贵的广告活动和内容收视率数据。

如今,所有主要行业中仍有 75% 的营销人员依靠 cookie 开展营销活动,45% 的营销人员将至少一半的营销预算用于基于 cookie 的激活活动。这意味着大量资金。例如,仅在美国,程序化展示业务的规模就高达 1600 亿美元,而其中绝大部分仍然基于第三方 cookie。 

尽管谷歌已将其 cookie 折旧计划推迟到 2025 年,但它们的终结还是不可避免的。但 Cookie 之后的前景并不一定暗淡。事实上,超越 Cookie 可能带来的不仅仅是一个更符合隐私标准的数字未来,还有一个更有效的广告生态系统。

一个 ID 的 ID

当 Cookie 被淘汰的前景首次冲击整个行业时,大多数人的想法是找到一种直接的替代品--一个 ID 换一个 ID--既能满足隐私监管机构的要求,又能让广告技术基础设施基本不受影响。

随着时间的推移,出现了许多候选方案,包括 ID5、RampID、UID2(及其在欧洲的对应方案EUID);智能手机和 CTV 设备的设备 ID;IP 地址(尽管 VPN 的采用率越来越高);以及散列电子邮件(HEM),考虑到电子邮件在当今应用程序和网站身份验证中的广泛使用,这是一种特别有吸引力的替代方案。

行业观察家的共识是,第三方 cookie 短期内不会有主导性的替代品,大多数大型出版商和广告商都在尽可能多地测试这些替代品,以便更好地了解它们的优势和局限性。我们尼尔森也在做同样的事情,寻找各种标识符类型并对它们进行测试。

个人层面的图表

最近的另一个新动向是,出版商和广告商急于收集第一方数据,以便 "喂饱机器",一位广告代理公司高管最近如是说。收集第一方数据不仅对收集数据信号非常有用,而且对创建丰富的客户档案也非常有用,营销人员可以利用这些客户档案个性化产品并锁定高级受众

消费者数据来自许多不同的地方,要了解这些数据并非易事。数据容易出错、丢失,而且很快就会过时。即使您自己的第一方数据保存得很好,但如果没有一个通用的 ID 来连接这些数据,就无法保证您的媒体合作伙伴能够将这些数据摄取并同步到他们的系统中。

这就是许多大型出版商和广告商与身份供应商合作或开发自己的身份图谱的原因。一些参与者,如亚马逊,正在其 DSP 中使用人工智能来连接第一方和第三方信号。在尼尔森,我们正通过专有的测量等级图引领潮流,从根本上摆脱以 cookie 和设备为中心的方法。这包括成为生态系统的传播者,与我们的客户和合作伙伴合作,从传递 cookie 和设备标识符发展到 HEM、UID 和其他弹性标识符。

通过与受众细分数据平台(如LiverampExperian)集成,并将标识符和设备映射到个人,尼尔森的身份识别系统保持了与标识符无关的受众分配和测量能力。这使品牌和出版商能够测量真实的人,而不是设备,并大规模建立即时受众,从而实现更智能、更持久的跨媒体规划和测量。

无 ID 解决方案

当然,并非所有广告都需要针对个人。随着数字环境发生如此多的变化,营销人员在媒体预算中为无 ID 解决方案(如上下文广告和基于位置的广告)留出了更多空间。

这些方法可以追溯到前数字时代(当时印刷品、线性电视和广播在广告市场中占据主导地位),它们不受隐私相关问题的影响。随着第三方数据质量、分析和广告技术基础设施的不断进步,这些方法可以像任何基于 ID 或基于个人的定位方法一样,以更低的成本快速提供强大的受众参与度。

在尼尔森,我们从几十年的媒体业务中了解到,正确的语境可以决定一个活动的成败,而且我们也深深扎根于本地市场。因此,我们的数字激活和测量解决方案的发展自然会延伸到情境和位置。

我们是如何做到的?我们正在使用尼尔森高度精选的数据集,将受众属性与我们的情境解决方案中详尽的关键字和情感相关联,并将受众属性与我们的基于位置的解决方案中细粒度的地理单元(如邮政编码)相关联。这使我们能够为广告商提供细致入微且符合隐私保护要求的受众细分,超越了目前市场上的其他情境和基于位置的解决方案。

混沌是阶梯

Cookie 之后是什么的不确定性让许多营销人员都在观望:坚持使用 Cookie,直到有一个明确的替代方案胜出。我们认为这是一个错误。我们无法保证谷歌不会再次拖延,也无法保证一旦 cookie 消失,整个行业会围绕一个单一的替代标识符展开。

相反,今天的混乱正是您审核现有广告生态系统、评估与 Cookie 相关的漏洞并开始尝试替代方案以了解哪些方案最符合您的需求的好时机。您可能会发现,开放您的广告基础设施以适应更多的解决方案,将为您的公司带来更多的定位机会,而不是更少。

现在就开始学习,这样你就能根据自己的条件进行转换。

继续浏览类似的见解

我们的产品可以帮助您和您的企业

  • 尼尔森一号

    利用尼尔森 ONE 的单一跨媒体货币,在线性和数字视频平台上无缝购买和销售媒体。

02_Elements/Icons/ArrowLeft Back to Insight
Insights > Perspectives

What comes after cookies?

5 minute read | Molly Poppie | June 2024
Molly Poppie, Nielsen Global Head of Product & Strategy

For nearly thirty years, third-party cookies have played a critical role in online advertising, content design and analytics, enabling advertisers to serve relevant ads and personalized experiences to consumers—and measurement companies like Nielsen to provide valuable campaign and content viewership data.

Today, 75% of marketers across all major industries still rely on cookies to run their campaigns, and 45% spend at least half of their marketing budgets on cookie-based activations. This adds up to a lot of money. Programmatic display, for instance, is a $160 billion business in the U.S. alone, and the vast majority of it is still based on third-party cookies. 

Even though Google has pushed out its cookie depreciation plans into 2025, their end will inevitably come. But what comes after cookies doesn’t need to be bleak. In fact, moving past cookies might usher in not just a more privacy-compliant digital future but a more effective advertising ecosystem, too.

An ID for an ID

When the prospect of cookie deprecation first hit the industry, most of the thinking went to finding a direct replacement—an ID for an ID—that would satisfy privacy regulators and leave the adtech infrastructure mostly untouched.

Many candidates emerged over time, including ID5, RampID, UID2 (and its European counterpart, EUID); device IDs from smartphones and CTV devices; IP addresses, despite the growing adoption of VPNs; and hashed emails (HEMs), a particularly attractive alternative considering the widespread use of email for app and website authentication today.

The consensus among industry observers is that there won’t be a dominant replacement for third-party cookies anytime soon, and most large publishers and advertisers are testing as many of those alternatives as possible to gain a better understanding of their strengths and limitations. We’re doing the same thing at Nielsen, sourcing a broad range of identifier types and putting them to the test.

Person-level graphs

Another recent development has been the rush by publishers and advertisers to collect first-party data in order to “feed the machine,” as one agency executive put it recently. Capturing first-party data can be very useful not just to collect data signals, but to create rich customer profiles that marketers can use to personalize offerings and target advanced audiences.

Consumer data comes from many different places, and it’s not always easy to make sense of it. It’s prone to errors, missing data, and it gets quickly out of date too. Even if your own first-party data is in a good place, there’s no guarantee that your media partners will be able to ingest it and sync it up in their systems without a universal ID to connect the dots.

That’s why many large publishers and advertisers are partnering with identity providers or developing their own identity graphs. Some players, like Amazon, are using AI in their DSP to connect first-party and third-party signals. At Nielsen, we’re leading the charge with a proprietary measurement grade graph that fundamentally shifts away from cookie and device-centric methods. This includes being an evangelist in the ecosystem and working with our clients and partners to evolve from passing cookie and device identifiers to HEMs, UIDs, and other resilient identifiers.

By integrating with audience segment data platforms (Like Liveramp and Experian) and mapping identifiers and devices to individual persons, Nielsen’s identity system maintains ID-agnostic audience assignment and measurement capabilities. This lets brands and publishers measure real people, not devices, and build on-the-fly audiences at scale for smarter, more durable cross-media planning and measurement.

ID-less solutions

Of course, not all advertising needs to be at the person level. And with so many changes underway in the digital landscape, marketers are making more room in their media budget for ID-less solutions like contextual and location-based advertising.

Harking back to the pre-digital era (when print, linear TV and radio dominated the advertising marketplace), these approaches are immune to privacy-related concerns. And with modern advances in third-party data quality, analytics and adtech infrastructure, they can deliver robust audience engagement just as fast as any ID-based or person-based targeting—often at a lower cost.

At Nielsen, we know from decades in the media business that the right context can make or break a campaign, and we have deep roots in local markets, too. So it is only natural that the evolution of our digital activation and measurement solutions would extend to context and location.

How are we doing it? We’re using Nielsen’s highly curated datasets to correlate audience attributes with an exhaustive range of keywords and sentiments for our contextual solution and with granular geographical units (like zip codes) for our location-based solution. This lets us provide advertisers with nuanced and privacy-compliant audience segments beyond other contextual and location-based solutions on the market today.

Chaos is a ladder

The uncertainty over what comes after cookies has many marketers waiting things out: hanging onto cookies until a clear alternative wins out. We think that’s a mistake. There’s no guarantee that Google won’t delay again, or that the industry will coalesce around a single alternative identifier once cookies are gone.

Instead, today’s chaos is the right time for you to audit your existing advertising ecosystem, assess your cookie-related vulnerabilities, and start experimenting with alternatives to see which ones perform the best for your needs. You’re likely to find that opening up your advertising infrastructure to accommodate more solutions will unlock more targeting opportunities for your company, not fewer.

Start learning now so that you can switch on your own terms.

Continue browsing similar insights

Our products can help you and your business

  • Nielsen ONE

    Buy and sell media across linear and digital video platforms seamlessly with Nielsen ONE’s single cross media currency.